Loading Events

Music in the Marly: Jasper String Quartet


Distinguished critic Allan Kozinn of The New York Times has called the Jasper String Quartet “powerful” and Kenneth Herman of the San Diego Union-Tribune wrote that “this is a quartet to watch.”
The Jasper has won a wealth of awards, including the Cleveland Quartet Award, grand prize at the Coleman Competition, and grand prize and the audience prize at the Plowman Chamber Music Competition. They were the first ensemble to win the Yale School of Music’s Horatio Parker Memorial Prize, established in 1945 and selected by the faculty for “best fulfilling … lofty musical ideas.”

Violinists J Freivogel and Sae Chonabayashi, violist Sam Quintal, and cellist Rachel Henderson Freivogel will perform two Beethoven string quartets, the Fourth in C Minor (Op. 18) and the towering Op. 131 in C-sharp Minor. They will also play two challenging works by Anton Webern: Langsamer Satz and Five Movements for String Quartet (Op. 5).

Marly Music Chamber Series

Listening to music in the Marly Room has been a tradition since 1975 and is a wonderful way to spend a Sunday afternoon. Before the concert and during intermission, you may want to browse through the Museum’s permanent collection in the original building or visit the Museum Store,  Brunch at the MFA Café opens at 11 a.m.

Student, $10
Marly Music Society members, $15
Non-Marly Music Society members, $20

Tickets by Telephone: 727.896.2667, ext. 210
Tickets will be held at the Museum’s will call table on the day of the concert.

The Concert Series is funded in part by the estate of Mrs. Elvira Wolfe de Weil. The official media sponsor is the St. Petersburg Times.

We invite you to call the Membership Department at (727) 896-2667, ext. 245. You must be a member of the Museum in order to join this wonderful music support organization.

The Marly Music Society is chaired by Dr. Richard Eliason and co-chaired by Mrs. Lorraine (Demi) Rahall;  Mrs. Joan Gessler, Mrs. Mary Alice McClendon, Mr. Richard Minck, and Dr. Karen White are committee members. Director Dr. Kent Lydecker is ex-officio of the committee, Vicki Sofranko is the Agent/Music Coordinator.

Event Details

June 23, 2013

2–4 pm

Event Categories

Add to Calendar